Masvingo retains paralympics title


MASVINGO province retained the national Paralympics Games title after beating other nine provinces at the event that ended on Sunday in Marondera.


Just like last year, Masvingo won 31 medals to claim first position, ahead of Mashonaland West who came second despite having amassed seven more medals. Masvingo beat Mashonaland West on points, having won 15 gold, 7 silver and nine bronze medals against 14 gold, 13 silver and 11 bronze medals from the closest rivals.

It was an improvement by Mashonaland West who finished third on the medal standings last year where they managed 33 medals.

The Midlands continue to slide down the standings, finishing third with a medal haul of 22, in the games they won in 2010 and 2011.

They were second last year.

There was a marked improvement by Manicaland province who moved from position nine last year to finish fourth winning 16 medals which included 9 gold.

Harare province, host for the next edition of the games, also moved up the ladder, up from position eight last year to fifth following a 28 medal haul. The host province Mashonaland East was a huge disappointment after finishing bottom of the medal standings accumulating just one gold, 6 silver and 10 bronze medals.

Overall medal standings

  • Masvingo: 15 gold, 7 silver, 9 bronze and a total of 31.
  • Mashonaland West: 14 gold, 13 silver, 11 bronze and a total of 38.
  • Midlands: 10 gold, 6 silver, 6 bronze and a total of 22.
  • Manicaland 9 gold, 3 silver, 4 bronze and a total of 16 medals.
  • Harare: 8 gold, 7 silver, 13 bronze and 28 total.
  • Matabeleland South 5 gold, 12 silver, 4 bronze and a total of 21 medals.
  • Mashonaland Central: 5 gold , 4 silver, 5 bronze, 14 medals.
  • Bulawayo: 4 gold, 15 silver, 9 and a total of 28 medals.
  • Matabeleland North: 3 gold, 1 silver, 3 bronze and 7 medals total.
  • Mashonaland East 1 gold, 6 silver 10 bronze and 17 medals total.