Byo City, Makomo pay full fees


NEWLY-PROMOTED Bulawayo City and Makomo have each paid in full the $3 000 each affiliation fees for newly branded Southern Region Soccer League.


This was confirmed on Saturday by Zifa Southern Region board member (finance) Bryton Malandule at the regional body’s annual general meeting (AGM) held at a local hotel.

Bulawayo City (then BCC Golden City) and Magwegwe Pirates from Bulawayo, Makomo and Amagagasi from Matabeleland North will be competing for promotion at the Premier Soccer League (PSL) next year after winning the Zifa Bulawayo and Matabeleland North Division Two leagues respectively.

Malandule said there were no changes in affiliation fees from last year with old clubs forking out $2 500 while new clubs were expected to part with $3 000.

Pirates, who were not represented at the AGM are yet to make any commitment and the club has previously extended a begging bowl for funding to compete in Division One after coming position two in Zifa Bulawayo Province Division Two League.

In a $65 500 budget for 2015, Zifa Southern Region expects $42 000 in affiliation fees from the 16 clubs that will participate.

Meanwhile, chairman of the region, Musa Mandaza, in his report said the league was being rebranded.

“In a bid to ensure that the region attracts sponsorship from both private and public sector, the board embarked on a rebrand exercise during the course of the season.

The exercise was a huge success, we have rechristened the region’s league from Zifa Southern Region to Southern Region Soccer League and we have changed our logo.

“The rebranding exercise is a loud and clear message to our sponsors and partners that we uphold high standards of ethics and corporate governance and we will strive that all partnerships we enter with sponsors are for the benefit of all parties,” Mandaza said.

Meanwhile, Plumtree Chiefs have reverted to the name Bulawayo Chiefs while army side Elephants FC will now be called Indlovu Iyanyathela.

The league welcomes back Bantu Rovers relegated from the PSL who will be competing with 15 other clubs namely Technosphere, Ntabazinduna Prison, Black Boots, Chiefs, ZPC Hwange, Trumus, Hwange Juniors, New West City, Mpumalanga, Indlovu Iyanyathela, NUST, Bulawayo City, Magwegwe Pirates, Makomo and Amagagasi.