MDC-T to boycott Parly opening

MDC-T secretary-general Douglas Mwonzora

MDC-T yesterday said its newly elected MPs will boycott the official opening of Parliament by President Robert Mugabe to register their displeasure at the way the July 31 polls were conducted.


Douglas Mwonzora, the MDC-T spokesperson, said the party would also not field
any candidates for the positions of Speaker of Parliament, President of the Senate or their deputies.

“MDC-T MPs are going to attend the swearing-in ceremony so that they take oath, but they do not have to attend Mugabe’s official opening of Parliament,” he said in an interview.

The MDC-T has rejected the outcome of the July 31 elections claiming massive vote-rigging and fraud.

“Attending the official opening ceremony and listening to the speech is tantamount to legitimising the manner Mugabe was elected, yet we know the election was stolen,” he said.
“Everybody knows that our failure to get justice in the courts by denial of records does not bring legitimacy, as the elections were a monumental fraud.

“I do not think the MDC-T will be able to provide a candidate for the Speaker position, as technically we do not have the numbers to win against Zanu PF.

“We will also not support any Zanu PF candidate for the position and what it simply means is that we are not going to vote.”

Innocent Gonese would be retained as the MDC-T chief whip.

Zanu PF wants Zimbabwe Human Rights Commission chairperson Jacob Mudenda to be the next Speaker of Parliament.

Edna Madzongwe would remain president of the Senate while former chief whips Joram Gumbo and Tambudzani Mohadi will also retain their posts in the House of Assembly and Senate respectively.


  1. MDC has started its childish antics.They know that even if they field any candidate, they dont have the numbers to win.Boycotting the opening of parliament does not bring the country to a stop.

Comments are closed.