Shabanie Mine dominate BancABC awards


SHABANIE Mine, winners of the BancABC Sup8r Cup tournament, dominated the individual player awards ceremony in Harare yesterday.


The asbestos miners dumped league champions Dynamos out of the knockout tournament with goalkeeper Victor Twaliki producing an outstanding performance in a dramatic penalty shoot-out — saving one penalty before smashing home the decisive kick to set up an all-Zvishavane cup final against FC Platinum following a 4-3 victory.

The two teams had drawn 1-1 in regulation time.

Luke Masomere’s men held their nerves to win a penalty shoot-out against FC Platinum 5-3 following a 0-0 draw in regulation time.

Twaliki was involved as he converted one of the spot-kicks to help his team with the BancABC Sup8r Cup.

And the sponsors of the eight-team tournament honoured players who stood out during the tournament with Twaliki walking away with a $1 000 cheque for winning the goalkeeper of the tournament award with teammate Tafadzwa Mombeshora getting $1 300 for being the player of the tournament.

Tarisai Rukanda of Shabanie was joint winner of the golden boot award with Dynamos’ Russel Madamombe after finishing the tournament with two goals each.

They got $500 each. BancABC acting managing director Arthur Murahwa in a speech read on his behalf by Banc Easy managing director Desmond Ali, said the financial institution had sponsored the tournament since 2009 with the objective of introducing the bank to into retail space.

“The tournament has grown into an annual event with the exception of 2012. June 2013 marked the return of Super 8r which ran until September 2013 and Shabanie Mine were the winners eventually.

It is an honour to present the following prizes on behalf of BancABC to players who excelled during the tournament. BancABC strives to deliver world-class products and services to our valued customers.

We also value the association and relationships we developed with all the eight participating clubs.

The teams that took part in the competition include Highlanders, Chicken Inn, Monomotapa and Buffaloes.