Southern Region league starts April 4

Zifa Southern Region chairman Musa Mandaza

THE Southern Region Soccer League, which should have started on Saturday, has now been moved to April 4 after the inclusion of Casmyn to the league following the expulsion of Magwegwe Pirates.


Magwegwe Pirates were promoted to the league from Zifa Bulawayo Province Division Two, but failed to show any commitment to participate in the league, leaving the Zifa Southern Region with no choice but to approach the province for another club.

Casmyn, who were on position four in Division Two last year, have since joined the league.

Region chairperson Musa Mandaza confirmed yesterday.

“The league will now start on April 4 and the office is busy finalising registration of players before the league starts. Otherwise all is set. Come rain or sunshine, we are starting on that day,” Mandaza said.

Casmyn will start with a game against the 2013 Zifa Southern Region Division One champions Bulawayo Chiefs.

former Premier Soccer League (PSL) coach Philani “Beefy” Ncube
former Premier Soccer League (PSL) coach Philani “Beefy” Ncube

Bulawayo City, favourites to win the league this year after grabbing a number of experienced players and coached by former Premier Soccer League (PSL) coach Philani “Beefy” Ncube, kick off their campaign against army side Indlovu Iyanyathela (formerly Bulawayo Jumbos) at Luveve Stadium.

Two derbies are set for Matabeleland North with new boys Makomo taking on Technosphere in Hwange while Amagagasi engage Trumus at Chinotimba Stadium in Victoria Falls.

Bantu Rovers, relegated from the PSL last year, host ZPC Hwange at Hartsfield Rugby Ground.

The Agent Sawu-coached Ntabazinduna Prison, contenders for the championship last year, host Nust at the prison while Black Boots will be away to Mpumalanga in Hwange.

First week April 4
Bulawayo City v Indlovu Iyanyathela (Luveve), Bulawayo Chiefs v Casmyn (Raylton), Bantu Rovers v ZPC Hwange (Hartsfield), Amagagasi v Trumus (Chinotimba), Ntabazinduna Prison v Nust (Ntabazinduna), New West City v Hwange Juniors (White City), Mpumalanga v Black Boots (Hwange), Technosphere v Makomo (Hwange).