Kwekwe deputy mayor faces axe


KWEKWE’s newly-elected deputy mayor Aaron Sithole is likely to lose his post after MDC-T members from Mbizo district recommended his expulsion for allegedly voting for Zanu PF‘s Matenda Madzoke as city mayor.

Blessed Mhlanga
Staff Reporter

Sithole is accused of conniving with Zanu PF councillors to dump MDC-T preferred mayoral candidate Aaron Gwalazimba.

As part of the deal, it is alleged Sithole was backed by Zanu PF for the post of deputy mayor.

MDC-T Mbizo district youth chairman Searchmore Muringani said party members met last Thursday and unanimously agreed that Sithole should be recalled from council.

“He boycotted that meeting because he knew he was guilty of cutting deals at night in defiance of party resolutions and principals,” Muringani said.

“He was not even the preferred party candidate for the deputy mayoral position, but was nominated for that post by Zanu PF after selling us out for personal gain.”

The MDC-T had proposed Weston Masiya for the deputy mayor position.

MDC-T national executive member and Mbizo legislator Settlement Chikwinya also confirmed the move saying they would rather have a by–election than keep a councillor who could not stick to party principles.

“Sithole has sold out the very core principles of the party and the district which sponsored him to council has informed me that they reached a resolution to recall him,” the MP said.

“ I think it is safe to have a by-election than to have someone you can’t trust representing you.”

Sithole yesterday refused to comment on the matter referring all the questions to the MDC-T.

Last week, the MDC-T fired its Mutare mayor Tatenda Nhamarare together with three other party councilors, for working in cahoots with Zanu PF in the mayoral elections.

Nhamarare, who was not the MDC-T nominee for the mayor’s post, reportedly defied party instructions and worked out a deal with Zanu PF councillors to vote for him as the new mayor.

In return, he and the three other MDC-T councillors allegedly voted for a Zanu PF deputy mayor. The other councillors are Farai Bhiza, Richard Mvura and Pamela Mutare.

The party has threatened to take similar action against councillors in Victoria Falls, Kwekwe and Gweru who voted for Zanu PF councillors.