Zimbabweans in President’s Cup team praised


FORMER Education, Sport, Arts and Culture minister David Coltart has praised four Zimbabwean golfers who are part of the international team that will take part in the President’s Cup that gets underway at the Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio, in the United States next Tuesday.


Nick Price will captain the team, while Tony Johnstone and Mark McNulty will be two of the three assistants with Zimbabwe’s number one golfer Brendon de Jongé being selected in the captain’s pick.

The third captain is Shigeki Maruyama of Japan.

Coltart, who went to school with Johnstone at Christian Brothers College, yesterday said it was a wonderful moment for Zimbabwe to have the four in that team.

“I played golf with Nick (Price), (Tony) Johnstone and Mark (McNulty). My moment of glory was when I played provincial golf in 1973. Actually Nick and Johnstone invited me to the President’s Cup, but due to lack of funding I will not make it. Johnstone was a year ahead of me at school and being vice-captain of that team together with Mark will be a wonderful thing for Zimbabwe.

“The President’s Cup is only second to the Ryder Cup and to have Zimbabweans in that team is absolutely wonderful. The Zimbabwean flag will definitely fly high. This is a wonderful opportunity to promote Zimbabwe,” Coltart said.

The President’s Cup will be on at the Muirfield Village Golf Club from October 1 to 6.

The international team that takes on the US has Ernie Els, Louis Oosthuizen of South Africa, Australians Adam Scott, Jason Day and another captain’s pick Marc Leishman also from Australia.

Also in the team are Japanese Hideki Matsuyama, Graham DeLaet of Canada and Argentine Angel Cabrera.

Particularly on Johnstone, his former schoolmate, Coltart had this to say: “Tony Johnstone is one of our national heroes for more than one reason. I am so proud that this ex-Christian Brothers College boy from Bulawayo will be one of the President’s Cup vice-captains next week in the US. He flies the Zimbabwean flag proudly. I wish I could be there to support the team, but will be there in spirit.”

The US team has Tiger Woods, Brandt Snedeker, Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar, Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley, Steve Stricker, Bill Haas, Hunter Mahan and Zach Johnson and will be captained by Fred Couples assisted by Jay Haas, Davis Love III.