Haz names provisional squads for Youth Olympic qualifiers


THE Hockey Association of Zimbabwe (HAZ) has named the Under-17 provisional squads for the Youth Olympic qualifiers to be held in Zambia in February next year.


The boys and girls’ teams were selected after friendly matches that were played at Arundel High School, Harare, at the weekend against Zambia.

The girls played four matches against their Zambian counterparts losing two matches and playing two draws while the boys lost all their three matches.

In the first match played by the girls, Zimbabwe A Select lost 3-9 to Zambia with the second being a 4-4 draw by Zim Possibles. Zim Possibles then lost 1-4 before Zimbabwe drew played another 4-4 draw.

The boys’ first match was a 0-7 drubbing of the Zim A Select followed by a 1-4 loss by Zim B Select with Zim Possibles also embarrassing falling 2-8 to Zambia.

After the matches, 28 boys and 21 girls were selected into the provisional squads.

HAZ vice-president Humphrey Chigwedere yesterday said plans were underway to have the squads assemble again after the Christmas holidays for friendly matches against strong competition before the qualifiers to be played on dates yet to be announced in February next year.

“These are part of preparations for the upcoming Youth Olympic qualifiers early next year in Zambia. Overall, it shows that the Zambians came in as ‘underdogs’ but they dominated play. There is a lot of work to be done by the Zimbabweans if we are to make a mark at the qualifiers next year in Zambia. The Zambians put up a very good performance despite their limited numbers,” Chigwedere said.

The boys’ team is coached by Prince Mwale, who took over from Edson Banda who resigned two months ago. Their manager is Craig Hepburn while the girls’ team is coached by Jooks Lowe and Anthony Five and their manager is Sarah Bennet.

Provisional squads
Boys: Tafara Simon, Gift Chamunorwa, Bryn Lowe, Dan Barnes, Forbes Motsi, Happious Njitimani, Newton Mashanyare, Mlungisi Mpofu, Phillip Machaya, Stephano Martin Bellini, Takunda Chipuma, Xolani Makhetwa, Moses Kapanga, Aaron Sithole, Dominic Ashely, Jonathan Campbell, Tatenda Kanyangarara, Batsirai Ncube, Peter Trusthum, Alroy Fourie, Blair Finnaughty, Brandon Watson, Esau Mufandaedza, Heemal Kala, Kieth Bruce, Misheck Zvizhinji, Alex Makuvise and Tariro Mbedzi

Girls: Kudzi Mushongahande, Nikki Hiripis, Aimee Nativel, Steph Campbell, Carla Van Oudtshoorn, Zarah Finnigan, Chelsea Dollar, Farai Kawande, Grace Mazarura, Julie Precious, Sophie Teede, Kelly Piplock, Tina Elijah, Kendal Revolta, Ally Shumba, Julliet Mazorodze, Jennifer Gwasira, Estelle Stambolie and Tyla Walters