Sibanda retains Vic Falls Marathon title


NKOSIYAZI Sibanda retained the Econet Victoria Falls marathon title at the weekend when he finished the 42,2km race in 2hr 21mins 40secs.


Sibanda’s time was slower than last year’s 2hr 19mins 11secs, but he walked away with the $800 prize money. He beat Mike Fokoroni who came in second in 2hr 22mins 6secs getting himself $675 and Peter Mabvura who came in third in 2hr 24mins 32secs to receive $500.

Zambian Matthews Mutanya was fourth in 2hr 25mins 22secs. The Zambian was awarded $400 for his efforts.

Lyno Muchena who came fourth in last year’s event went a step down to fifth this year in a time of 2hr 27mins 19secs  and got $300 while in sixth place was John Payarira who finished in 2hr 30mins 10secs and received $200.

Leonard Koki who came second in last year’s race failed to make the top five finishing seventh in 2hr 32mins 15secs winning $150.

Wellington Chidodo was in at eighth (2hr 32mins 37secs), Robert Mutandare ninth (2hr 32mins 48secs) and Peter Tadziripa 10th (2hr 33mins 31secs) winning $100, $75 and $50 respectively.

In the women’s race Monica Kativhu improved on her fourth place finish last year to take the title in 3hr 8mins 21secs and the $800 prize money beating United States’ Elizabeth Arens who clocked 3hr 18mins 40secs and veteran long-distance athlete Margaret Mahohoma in 3hr 26mins 20secs.

The prize money was the same as in the men’s category. Kativhu also improved on her time after running the same course in 3hr 16mins 26secs last year.

In fourth place was Candice Hall of South Africa in 3hr 27mins 58secs and Muchaneta Gwata — who finished third last year — finishing fifth in 3hr 35mins 34secs which was slower compared to her 3hr 6mins 7secs last year.

Vanessa Davis of South Africa was  sixth in 3hr 36mins 4secs with compatriot Janine Prins in seventh position in 3hr 41mins 51secs, followed by Michelle Walker of US with 3hr 47mins 12secs, Rabia Filima 3hr 52mins 41secs and in 10th Jennifer Tanner of Australia in 3hr 58mins 5secs.

In the half-marathon Elijah Mabhunu took top honours when he clocked one 1hr 5mins 30secs ahead of Jacob Mugomeri who finished in one 1hr 6mins 33secs while Isaac Mpofu was third in 1hr 6mins 42secs.

The winner of the half-marathon walked away with $450, with second to 10th place getting $325, $250, $200, $150, $125, $100, $75, $50 and $25 respectively in both the men and women’s categories. Olivia Chitate won the women’s race in 1hr 19mins 22secs beating Constance Nyasango who clocked 1hr 20mins 13secs and Alison Manake in 1hr 23mins 50secs.