Mahachi’s Monaco deal flops


ZIMBABWEAN winger Kudakwashe Mahachi will remain with Mamelodi Sundowns this season after failing to secure a move to French giants Monaco.


Mahachi reportedly impressed on a recent trial with Radamel Falcao’s employers, but the parties could not agree on a transfer fee, according to a well-placed source yesterday.

“The boy did well and Monaco was very impressed during his trials. However, they could not agree on terms and the transfer fee,” said the source.

Mahachi is back at Chloorkop as he seeks to impress coach Pitso Mosimane in the new Absa Premier Soccer League (PSL) season. The 20-year-old signed with the PSL champions during the January transfer window, but spent the remainder of the 2013 to 2014 campaign on loan to Highlanders.

Mahachi is one of three foreigners that have been registered by Sundowns, but did not make the team that was beaten 0-1 by Ajax on Wednesday night for their second straight defeat of the season.

Cuthbert Malajila is the other Zimbabwean player who has been registered by the wealthy club and while reports suggest that Khama Billiat is safe and would be registered once he fully recovers from his injury, the future of returning Nyasha Mushekwi at the club is in major doubt.

Acording to media reports from South Africa, the Brazilians have major decisions to make in the coming few days regarding players who will take up their last two foreign slots.

Besides Mahachi and Malajila, Senegalese tall striker Mame Niang has also been registered.

According to the KickOff website, Billiat’s future with the club is safe and he will be registered very soon. The last foreign slot will most likely go to Uzoenyi, leaving the other crew including Mushekwi stranded.

There is a possibility that those who will not be registered will be loaned out to different clubs.

Sundowns have seven foreigners who have been naturalised and registered as locals after acquiring permanent residence permits.

They are former Warriors hardman Esrom Nyandoro, Kennedy Mweene (Zambia), Glenn Verbauwhede (Belgium), Alje Schut (Netherlands), Elias Pelembe (Mozambique), Anthony Laffor (Liberia) and Denis Onyango of Uganda.