HomeSportMotor RacingBMC to take part in national championship

BMC to take part in national championship


THE Bulawayo Motoring Club (BMC) vice-chairperson Zane Shah has confirmed the club’s participation in the first round of the 2014 National Racing Championships slated for Saturday at Donnybrook in Harare.


Shah who was the fastest with his Toyota MR-2 turbo charged car at the Victoria Falls Road Circuit on Saturday clocked 13mins 95secs over a distance of 402 metres. He, however, ruled himself out of the competition after his car blew the engine.

“We have a couple of racers who are going to take part, although there are some who are yet to confirm participation. I will not participate, but I will be there just to watch. I have never competed in the Donnybrook race before,” Shah said.

BMC will be represented by Darren Winterboer, Angelo Tavares, Darren Pragji and Dean Norman. Pragji came second in 14mins 72secs in the elimination cars after Zane Shah on Saturday, but he should expect a stiff competition in Harare, the home of the likes of Gary Kirk, Richard Robinson, Ian Howden, Brett Cameron, Rowan Whyte and Zack Flack.

Shah confirmed a number of cyclists who will take part in the competition who include Ian Gutherless, Fuzzy Walker.

Tim Shultz, wife Bianca and son Matt are also expected to take part in the cycling competition.

Shah said the second round of the national championships will be hosted by BMC at Victoria Falls Road on March 29.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading