HomeSportFootballUhuru Trophy draw today

Uhuru Trophy draw today


TEAMS which will play in the semi-finals of the Independence Trophy on Sunday will be known today.


Zifa communications manager Xolisani Gwesela yesterday said they were still finalising on the format of the draw for the tournament.

However, unconfirmed reports yesterday were that Dynamos would play Harare City at Rufaro Stadium while Highlanders would engage FC Platinum at Barbourfields Stadium with the organisers probably looking for an April 18 final.

“We will have details of the format of the draw by tomorrow (today). We are still finalising on some issues like the prize money and venues for the tournament.

“You will get all those details tomorrow (today),” said Gwesela.

Teams which finished in the top four last season are set to play in this year’s Independence Cup trophy.

Reigning champions Dynamos, Highlanders who finished second, Harare City (third) and FC Platinum (fourth) will fight for the right to play in the final of the tournament.

The winners will play in the final on April 18 in Harare with the losers playing for third and fourth place in Bulawayo the same day.

This year’s Independence Cup has been made the official opening tournament of the season.

NetOne has been sponsoring the Charity Shield season opener in the previous seasons.

The PSL management said they decided to make the Independence Trophy the opening tournament of the season after realising that as football stakeholders, they had not been according the tournament the status it deserved.

Dynamos are the defending champions after beating Highlanders 1-0 in last year’s final.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading