HomeSportMotor RacingNational racing series set for Vic Falls

National racing series set for Vic Falls


THE Victoria Falls Road Circuit is set to host the second round of the Bulawayo 100 National Series Leg in what promises to be a weekend of motor racing excitement on June 28.


The one-day event, hosted by Bulawayo Motoring Club (BMC) is set to attract some of the best bikers and drivers from around the country as they burn rubber in contest for a spot on the helm of the current national racing standings.

The race will see drivers and riders avoid mistakes as they will compete in four classes namely national cars, national bikes for mageli, superbikes and club ultimate street car challenge.

BMC vice-chairman Zane Shah said drivers and riders will be giving it their all as they race for the crucial points.

“Drivers and riders are all going to be chasing vital points as the competition has been close with very little to spare between current point standings in their respective classes. Very little room for error as competitors and teams will be on edge to gain the best positions on the day. Points are accumulated in these legs to the national and club championships year end result,” Shah said.

The national series is expected to draw drivers from across the country with Harare Motoring Club set to bring in a good turnout of drivers and riders.

Some of the storylines to keep an eye at the Falls circuit include Cole Bond, father and son John and Brett Cameron in the open lotus, the Shield Toyota driven by Ian Howden, and Rowan Whyte in his Subaru who will be in the automobiles category from the capital.

These will be going against the likes of Bulawayo boys, Angelo Tavares in his Subaru, Phillip Minaar Junior in his BMW, Denzel Bhana in the Ford Escort, Darren Pragji in his trusty Datsun, Julian Van Honda Ballade and Dean Norman’ s 1,8lt turbo golf.

Shah in his Conquest will be making his return to the race having missed out on the last national contest due to a blown engine.

Ultimate Street Car Challenge drivers include Van vuurens, Minaar and Shah, with some new comers on the day, supported by Auto Quip.

The bikes category will be tightly contested with Phil Arcinold and Gavin Randall making the trip to Bulawayo while Tiffany Fisher will be seeking to keep points at the top with the likes of Ian Gutherless and Fuzzy Walker with Tim Shultz in very close pursuit.

Bianca Shultz will be in the race to provide that extra edge for the Bulawayo riders. This is what promises to be a day of clean, but competitive racing.

The prestigious national event is sponsored by AutoWorld Bulawayo, Anderson Motors, Auto Quip, Colourworld, L&L Mining and Shield Security for both car and bike races.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading