HomeSportFootballSeven bids received for 2017 Afcon

Seven bids received for 2017 Afcon


CAIRO — By the deadline of September 30 2014, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) received applications from seven member associations for the hosting rights of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon).
The seven in alphabetical order are: Algeria, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Sudan and Zimbabwe.

Nominations were opened on August 23 2014, following the withdrawal of Libya, original host of the 31st edition of the Afcon, through a circular signed by the CAF secretary-general Hicham el-Amrani.

The host country will be decided by the CAF executive committee during one of its sessions in 2015.

The circular emphasised that due to the limited time frame for the organisation of the 2017 Afcon, the CAF executive committee will focus on the host with acceptable infrastructure and facilities required (stadia, training grounds, accommodation, communications etc) in making a decision.

— Cafonline

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading