HomeSportAthleticsNyahora wins fourth Choppies 10km title

Nyahora wins fourth Choppies 10km title


RUTENDO Nyahora yesterday romped home first in the Choppies 10km race, winning her fourth consecutive title in the race and beating her last year’s record by one minute 40 seconds.


Nyahora picked up the R5 000 first prize in the senior women’s category after hitting the tape in time of 32:37:28secs compared to last year’s 35.17:00secs.

He star keeps rising after she also defended the Vumba half-marathon title early this month crossing the line in 1.17:17secs.Rutendo-Nyahora

She was followed by Constance Nyasango who clocked 33.11:52secs while Olivia Chitate came third in 33.52:66secs with Sharon Tavengwa coming fourth in 35.02:45secs. Nyasango, Chitatate and Tavengwa got R3 500,
R3 000 and R2 000, respectively.

The senior men’s race was won by Jacob Mugomeri who beat last year Kelvin Pangiso’s record after crossing the line in 27.45:81secs to pick up theR5 000 first prize money.

Pangiso who did not compete in this year’s race won it in 30.31:00secs last year.

Mugomeri beat Wirimai Juwawo who came second in 28.00:77secs to get R3 500 with Elijah Mabhunu coming position three in 28.09:45secs while Ngonidzashe Ncube came fourth in 28.11:90secs. Mabhunu and Ncube got R3 000 and R2 000.

In the junior men’s category the first prize of R4 000 was won by Tendai Zimuto who crossed the line in 29.35:57secs followed by Richmond Tinorwa (31.05:31secs), Hlalani Ngwenya (31.39:88secs) and Titus Nyathi (31.48:10secs) who got R2 500, R2 000 and R1 000.

Caroline Mhandu won the junior women’s race in 35.21:02secs beating Enlita Ncube (36.10:55secs), Anna Bungu 36.42:27secs and Tanyaradzwa Mukuruzado (37.18:22secs).

In the men’s wheelchair category Samson Muroyiwa came first in 28.43:11secs to take the first prize money of R3 500 folllowed by Elford Moyo (28.45:10secs), Munyaradzi Katino (34.16:75secs) and Meli Ncube (57.38:15secs). Moyo, Katino and Ncube got R2 000, R1 500, R1 000.

Ratidzo Tom hit the tape in 45. 10:20 secs to win the women’s wheelchair race and was followed by Thandiwe Ndlovu (51.58:13secs), Dorcas Wahia (52.20:19secs) and Irene Moyo (106.12:99secs).

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading