Baseball national team selected

Zimbabwe Baseball Association (ZBA) has selected the national team that will represent the country at the March 2015 All-Africa Games to be held in Brazzaville.


The same team is also set to compete at the April 2015 South African Baseball Union championships games to be held in Gauteng, South Africa.

The 21-member team was selected after impressing during the recently held ZBA Dream Cup tournament.

The players were pooled from five provinces namely Harare, Bulawayo, Mashonaland West, Manicaland and the Midlands.

Players who made it to the team are God knows Kachidza, Mhlanguli Muguti, Brian Mwanza, Anesuishe Nago, Collen Gando, Learnmore Takaedza, Alfred Sithole, John Ndlovu, Batsirai Murazvu, Kelvin Kawadza, Tinashe Kwangware, Tafadzwa Filipo, Jaison Mungoni, Joram Zifuinzi, Luxton Mawaya, Vincent Chaima, Sumani Phiri, William Sithole, Yasser Simango, Hlaniphani Ngulube and Raymond Mafuyanzara.
Innocent Mwoyosvi will lead the technical team.

ZBA advisor Ibrahim Mase hopes the newly-selected team would bring medals from the All- Africa Games.

“The team look so promising and at the moment we are perfecting on their batting, pitching and fielding skills other than that we are hopeful that the team will get medals as they are strong and competitive enough to face any team,” Mase said.baseball_glove_bat

Meanwhile, Manicaland province emerged “Dream Cup” 2014 champion winners after defeating the Midlands province by 15 runs to 10 after battling it out in nine innings during the Baseball Dream Cup provincial tournament that was held at Belgravia sports club at the weekend.

Bulawayo came in on third position after defeating Mashonaland west by 15 runs to five in the second round leg and Harare Metropolitan in the semi-finals by seven runs to five.

Our Partners:   NewsDay   The Independent   TheStandard  MyClassifieds