HomeSportAthleticsBulawayo, Mat South leave for Nestlé finals

Bulawayo, Mat South leave for Nestlé finals


BULAWAYO and Matabeleland South provinces leave today for the National Association of Primary School Heads (Naph) Nestlé Athletics and Physical Education national championships to be held at Trojan Mine Stadium, Bindura, tomorrow and Thursday.


Naph Bulawayo chairperson Njabulo Bango said his team was putting up at Ingubo Primary School yesterday before leaving for Bindura this morning.

“Tonight (yesterday) we are sleeping at Ingubo Primary School so that we leave tomorrow morning (today) for the two-day athletics competition, he said.

“We have to arrive in Bindura around 2pm so as to attend the vetting which will be done tomorrow (today) at 3pm.

“We are very ready and our Under-14 athletes have their passports in case they excel and are selected into the national team that will travel to Lesotho for the Confederation of Schools Sport Association of Southern Africa games which will be held in Lesotho at the end of April.

“Last year we came second in the same competition and this year we hope to come out tops. All our athletes are ready as we have done our training thoroughly.

“All in all we have 80 athletes with 65 doing track and field events while 20 are for physical education,” Bango said.

Naph Matabeleland South head Elton Sinyosi echoed the same sentiments saying: “We are very much prepared and our aim this year is to be in the top five since we were on a one-week camp at Mbalabala ahead of the national championships.”

Sinyosi expressed gratitude to Nestlé Zimbabwe for sponsorship indicating that Nestlé aimed at eliminating obesity among young children hence they (Naph) were urged to inform and disseminate proper knowledge to children and their parents.

The Nestlé Athletics and Physical Education Competition will be held under the theme “Eat Well, Play Well, Grow Well” and the country’s 10 provinces — Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Matabeleland South, the Midlands, Manicaland, Mashonaland East, Mashonaland West, Mashonaland Central, Masvingo and Harare are taking part.

Last year, Mashonaland West came first ahead of Bulawayo while Masvingo was in third position in athletics. Mashonaland Central were the champions in physical education followed by Harare.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading