MDC-T bigwigs fall in polls


SEVERAL MDC-T bigwigs were at the weekend beaten in primary polls to represent the party in the forthcoming harmonised elections.


Among those rejected are Pelandaba MP Samuel Sandla Khumalo, Budiriro MP and Science and Technology Development minister Heneri Dzinotyiwei who garnered 150 votes against youth assembly vice-chairman Costa Machingauta’s 278 votes.

Khumalo only secured 108 votes against MDC-T provincial chairman Bekithemba Nyathi’s 164.

In Bulawayo Central, Dorcas Sibanda recovered from failure to be confirmed to beat Nicki Brown by 173 votes to 112.

In Magwegwe MP Felix Magalela won against youth assembly secretary-general Promise Mkwananzi.

MDC-T provincial spokesperson Mandla Sibanda said primary elections for Entumbane-Emakhandeni constituency were postponed after Prince Dube who won the original polls said he was not aware there was a rerun.

“The primary elections for this constituency have been postponed and we hope they will be held next week,” he said.

In Highfield West, Moses Manyengavana polled 556 votes to beat sitting MP Simon Hove who garnered.Former minister Fidelis Mhashu (Chitungwiza North MP), former mayor Misheck Shoko (Chitungwiza South MP), Collin Gwiyo (Zengeza West MP) and Edward Musumbu (Norton MP) all fell by the wayside while Marvellous Khumalo (St Mary’s) withdrew after failing the confirmation test.

Pearson Mungofa (Highfield East) who garnered 200 votes, lost to Eric Murayi who had 256 votes, Margaret Matienga (Sunningdale), and Gift Dzirutwe (Glen Norah) also lost.

Willias Madzimure (Kambuzuma) is the only MP who sailed through the tough primary election to represent the party again beating all challengers.

The process in Epworth was called off Saturday after skirmishes that saw one of the contestants fleeing with ballot boxes. A date for the elections will be announced soon.

Incumbent Chinhoyi MP Stewart Garadhi polled 201 losing to Peter Matarutse who got 545 ballots.

In Hurungwe West, the party’s provincial organising secretary Wilson Makanyaire romped to victory after trouncing sitting MP Severino Chambati. He got 3 200 votes against Chambati’s 115.

Sitting Chegutu West MP Takalani Matibe did not participate in the internal elections after he failed the confirmation test a fortnight ago.

In Mashonaland East, sitting MPs Moses Jiri (Chikomba Central) and Wadi Nezi (Murehwa West) fell to provincial chairman Pineal Denga and Leornad Mandaza respectively.

In Kariba, sources said preliminary results collated from Kariba rural polling centres indicated incumbent Cleopas Machacha was trailing aspiring lawmaker Munyaradzi Mandishona.

The elections would be concluded later after urban voters would have to cast their ballots on a date to be announced.

In Gweru Central constituency, incumbent MP Rodrick Rutsvara lost to the party secretary for elections Sessel Zvidzai.

MDC-T organising secretary Nelson Chamisa said: “The process is the best indication of excellence and we are satisfied with the discharge of the whole process.”

— Additional reporting by Harare Bureau