Candidate defies Tsvangirai


A disgruntled MDC-T member on Friday defied Morgan Tsvangirai’s plea to accommodate former MDC MP Norman Mpofu and filed his nomination papers to stand as an independent candidate in Bulilima West.


Solani Moyo, the provincial organising secretary in Bulilima was denied a primary election against Mpofu who was expelled from MDC in 2008 alongside Abedinico Bhebhe and Njabuliso Mguni for working with MDC-T. Tsvangirai held a rushed rally last week where he justified Mpofu’s imposition.

But Moyo told the Southern Eye after filing his papers that the people of Bulilima had asked him to stand as an independent in protest.

“It was the people’s decision since they had been left with no option following Mpofu’s imposition in the constituency,” he said.

“I know the party will say I have automatically expelled myself it, but I remain loyal to MDC-T and people have said they want me for the position of MP and Tsvangirai for President.”

Moyo and Mpofu will battle it out with Pilate Ndebele of MDC and Maphios Ndlovu of Zanu PF.

MDC-T also imposed Thandeko Zinti Mnkandhla (Gwanda North) and Nomalanga Khumalo (Umzingwane).

On Friday Tsvangirai reportedly held another meeting in Gwanda with MDC-T structures in Matabeleland South trying to douse flames. Journalists were barred from covering the meeting.

In Insiza South, MDC-T fielded three candidates with one of them contesting as an independent.

Ntandokayiphikiswa Ndlela and Nkululeko Sibanda both filed their nomination papers under the MDC-T ticket.

They will contest against Dambamahubo Mafu of Zapu, independent candidate Dumezweni Dube, incumbent MP Siyabonga Malandu-Ncube and former Radio 2 disc jockey Malaki Nkomo who is standing on a Zanu PF ticket.

In Beitbridge East, Home Affairs minister Kembo Mohadi will be challenged by independent candidate Lawrence Tshili whom he beat in the Zanu PF primary polls. Other candidates are MDC-T provincial youth chairperson Morgan Ncube and Siyakwethu Dube of MDC.

Meanwhile, a number of fringe parties will challenge MDC, MDC-T and Zanu PF in the battle for Bulawayo City Council’s 29 wards.

According to a list released by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission yesterday, Zapu, Zanu Ndonga, Mavambo/Kusile/Dawn, little known CTD and AKE fielded council candidates.