HomeSportOther SportAll set for today’s Choppies 10km fun run

All set for today’s Choppies 10km fun run


ALL IS set for today’s R100 000 Choppies 10km race which kicks off at Nkulumane Complex, Bulawayo.

Ronald Moyo
Sports Reporter

Final registration was done yesterday at Nkulumane Complex where athletes were also given their bib numbers.

According to the information obtained by Southern Eye more than 50 athletes have been registered for the race

Saziso Zondo an official who was at the registration point said, all was going well and they was hoping that more athletes were come for registration.

“We have registered about 50 athletes and we are hoping that they would come in numbers as the process is still on. I have identified a number of athletes with big names, so we are expecting a competitive race tomorrow (today). We have, however, one athlete who thought there was a grand master’s category so he did not register after realising that we do not have that category, but some grandmasters are registering at the senior category,” Zondo said.

Bulawayo Athletics Board secretary-general Dailes Bingadadi said as a board, they had a good sporting season considering that the province had many races this year.

“This is one of the best seasons we have had so far considering that our province had many races this year. We would like to thank the sponsors who have been with us throughout the year in different races. We also managed to cater for different age groups as we had juniors up to the grand masters’ category. We are hoping that next year we are going to have even a better season so that the sport can improve, not only in Bulawayo, but at a national level,” she said.

Winners in the seniors in both men and women’s categories, will walk away with R5 000 each.

Runners-up will pocket R3 000, second runners-up will get R1 500 while fourth-placed athletes will win R500 each.

In the juniors and wheelchair categories both men and women winners will walk away R1 500 richer. Runners-up will grab R1 000 while second runners-up will get R750 each. Rutendo Nyahora will be eyeing a third successive win in the women’s category.

In last year’s edition she finished the race in 31mins 10secs, breaking her 2011 time of 32mins 41secs.

Wirimai Juwawo who won the Old Mutual 10km race last month, will be also hoping to retain his title as he won last year’s senior men’s category in a time of 27mins 24secs also beating the 2011 record of 27mins 33,36secs set by Luwis Masunda.

Recent Posts

Stories you will enjoy

Recommended reading