MDC-T fires 18 MPs

THE MDC-T yesterday wrote to the Speaker of Parliament saying it had fired 15 House of Assembly members and three Senators, saying the 18 should be recalled from the august House.




The opposition party says it fired the 18 after they defected to MDC-Renewal, saying the renegades could no longer continue to be in Parliament after leaving the MDC-T.

In a statement, the MDC-T said it was recalling the 18 in line with the resolutions of the party’s weekend congress. Newly-elected MDC-T secretary-general Douglas Mwonzora on Wednesday wrote to Speaker of Parliament Jacob Mudenda advising that the legislators had ceased to represent the party.

Addressing a press conference yesterday, MDC-T spokesperson Obert Gutu said the fired MPs were Tendai Biti (Harare East), Willias Madzimure (Kambuzuma), Lucia Matibenga (Kuwadzana), Evelyn Masaiti (proportional representation), Paul Madzore (Dzivarasekwa), Bekithemba Nyathi (Mpopoma/Pelandaba) and Moses Manyengavana (Highfield West).

Others are Albert Mhlanga (Pumula), Samuel Sipepa Nkomo (Lobengula), Roseline Nkomo (Tsholotsho North), Settlement Chikwinya (Mbizo), Judith Muzhavazhe (proportional representation) and Gorden Moyo (Makokoba).

Senators Sekai Holland (Chizhanje), Rorana Muchihwa (Chikomo) and Watchy Sibanda (Matebeleland South) also face the boot.

Biti earlier this year led a rebellion against MDC-T president Morgan Tsvangirai, calling a meeting that purportedly ousted the long-time opposition leader.

Tsvangirai also convened his own supporters, who also called for the expulsion of Biti and his fellow rebels, as both outfits scramble for legitimacy.

However, observers are not convinced that this was the best move as they believe the move to expel the 18 could give the ruling Zanu PF a chance to win by elections if the constituency seats are declared vacant.

MDC-Renewal team spokesperson Jacob Mafume scoffed at the dismissal, describing the move as a legal nullity.

Our Partners:   NewsDay   The Independent   TheStandard  MyClassifieds