First gold at National Youth Games

THE FIRST victory ceremony for the 2013 Zimbabwe National Youth Games was held yesterday at the National University of Science and Technology with the 5 000-m race winners in both the women and men’s categories being the first to take to the podium.

Vitalis Moyo
Sports Reporter

Enlitha Ncube of the Midlands won the women’s race in 17mins 51,35secs to grab gold while Mashonaland East athletes Bertha Chikanga and Anna Bungu scooped the silver and bronze completing in 18mins 02,34secs and 18mins 11,69secs respectively. Mashonaland East also dominated the men’s
5 000m race with Blessing Jameson winning the gold medal in 15 mins 43,51secs while Shylock Chitambu finished in second position in 15 mins 47,81secs with the bronze medal going to Manicaland’s Richmond Tonorwa who finished in 15mins 49,49secs.

The 400m hurdles women’s gold went to Manicaland’s Samantha Maruma who clocked 67,14secs with Harare’s Primrose Zimunhu getting silver in 68,60secs and Mashonaland West’s Sandra Phiri getting bronze in 69,06secs.

The men’s race was won by Mashonaland Central’s Kenias Gorowa in 57,15secs while Daniel Chidavaenzi of Harare came second in 57,56secs with the Midlands’ Pride Lusinga taking bronze in 57,58secs.

In field events completed yesterday, Percevier Ncube of Matabeleland South claimed the women’s javelin gold medal with a distance of 38,70m while Grace Ndlovu also of Mat’ South got silver medal with a distance of 29,82m and Manicaland’s Talent Ngakhiwe’s 29,42m earned her a bronze medal.

The men’s triple jump gold medal was claimed by Matabeleland South’s Bhekisisa Tshuma with his distance of 14,42m while Manicalands’ Brian Mada came in second position with 14,12m and Ronaldhino Sithole of the Midlands won bronze with his 13,36m jump. Other races that were run yesterday include the 400m men’s heats with Bulawayo’s Andile Khumalo qualifying from the first heat winning it in 48,61secs while Masvingo’s Phineas Masiya came in second position with a time of 51,82secs.

In heat two, Tatenda Chindova of Harare came in first position in 50,62secs while Matabeleland South’s Marvelous Ndebele came in second position in a time of 51,43secs with Matabeleland North’s Praise Gumbo finished in 52,06secs to take position three. Heat three was won by Bulawayo’s Mthabisi Phiri in 51,08secs while Philimon Dlodlo of Matabeleland South finished second in 51,57secs with Mashonaland East’s Tatenda Matesanwa came in at third in 51,64secs. The last 400m heat was won by Gwinyani Nyika of Mashonaland West in a time of 52,12secs while the other athletes in that race could not make the final cut as their times were too slow.

Our Partners:   NewsDay   The Independent   TheStandard  MyClassifieds